How To Select The Perfect Diamond

Ready to tie the knot?  Celebrating a special anniversary or just celebrating life?  Before going out and spending your hard earned dollars on a diamond, it is important to understand what actually makes one diamond more valuable than another diamond. So, get ready to be informed and actually sound as if you are an expert when it comes to purchasing the perfect diamond!

The 4 C’s

Diamonds are graded for certification by laboratories using grading criteria known as the “4 C’s.” Understanding the 4 C’s is critically important when purchasing a diamond for your loved one.

The 4 C’s refer to:

  • Color
  • Cut
  • Clarity
  • Carat


Color is the result of the composition of a Diamond and it does not change. When a jeweler is describing the brilliance of a diamond, they are referring to either the presence or absence of color in white diamonds.

Because of a diamond with no color allows maximum light to pass through, colorless diamonds are preferred for their brilliance and ‘sparkle’ factor.


Cut refers to a diamond’s reflective quality.

Most diamonds are cut with 58 facets or ‘angles’. The brilliance of diamonds is heavily dependent on the Cut. The different angles and the finish of a diamond determine its ability to reflect light and cause its brilliance and ‘fire’.

It is important to remember that the Cut of a diamond can have an impact on its durability as well as its beauty. Some cutting faults can make a diamond prone to break.

A diamond that is cut too thin can also cause light to leak out of the back, and the diamond will lose some of the sparkles and appear not to shine. So, as you can see, the cut is probably the most important of the 4 C’s.


During the formation process of a diamond, inner flaws, known as inclusions, occur in most diamonds. The number and size of these inclusions determine what is referred to as the clarity of a diamond. Clear diamonds create more brilliance and therefore are rarer and highly-priced. To be considered “flawless,” a diamond must have no surface or internal imperfections visible upon being viewed by a skilled diamond grader using the 10 power magnifications.


Carat is the unit of weight by which diamonds are measured. One carat is equal to 200 milligrams. A carat is divided into 100 segments called points. 150 points would equal one and a half carats.

Now that you have a basic understanding of the “4 C’s” you can go out with confidence and look for the best diamond at a great price.  Remember, ask lots of questions and don’t be shy about shopping around to get the best price.  As a leading diamond company says… “A diamond lasts forever”, because of this, make sure that you are happy with your purchase forever.